Lauren’s Opinions

A small piece of my mind

Yellowstone National Park April 25, 2009

Filed under: Personal — laurens918 @ 6:37 pm

yellowstone2This summer,I will be working out in Yellowstone National Park. I applied this past February through an online application. I will be working  in a restaurant from May 23rd until August 1st.

My parents met each other while both working in Yellowstone during the summers of their college years.  When I was in the 4th grade, they took my brother and I out to Wyoming. It is the most beautiful country. There are thousands of wild flowers, animals walking where ever they please, and the people are extremely helpful. As we traveled throughout the park, I realized that this is where I wanted to work, I wanted to be a part of traveler’s experiences while they are out in this part of the country.

There are different “towns” within the park, and each of them have something unique and special about them. There is Lake, Mannoth, Old Faithful, and Canyon. I will be working in Canyon. There are hiking trails, restaurants, souvenir shops, and more. Even though Old Faithful is the most tourist like of all the places, I still enjoyed watching the geyser, named “Old Faithful.” This geyer shoots high into the air at a certain time every hour. Hundreds of people watch it each time, amazed by the height and beauty of it rising from the ground.

I cannot even begin to express how excited I am to work out West this summer. This will be my first time actually doing something on my own. Sure, I live away from home while at school, but I can always travel back to Atlanta on the weekends. This summer, I will offically be on my own.

 

Leave a Reply

